Thursday 25 June 2015

Liberal Baird Government Votes NO to More Trains for South West Sydney

Restore Inner West Line thanks Tania Mihailuk (Member for Bankstown) for moving a motion to restore the Inner West Line (Liverpool via Regents Park) train service in the NSW Parliament today.

The Member for Bankstown spoke excellently and precisely explained the issues facing commuters in South West Sydney particularly in suburbs such as Sefton, Chester Hill and Villawood. This was followed by Ryan Park (Shadow Minister for Transport) emphasis on how the Baird Liberal government despite claiming to be focused on infrastructure continues to neglect South West Sydney particularly the electorate of Bankstown and Auburn regarding train services and public transport. Also speaking was Guy Zangari (Member for Fairfield) expressing the community's concerns regarding the October 2013 timetable changes.

Absent from the house was Andrew Constance (Transport Minister), leaving John Sidoti (Member for Drummoyne & Parliamentary Secretary for Transport & Roads) to present a speech without insight into the affected area and to deny any negative implications for South West Sydney arising from the timetable changes. Other government members also spoke with ignorance to the situation including the confusion of the Bankstown Line with the former Inner West Line (Liverpool via Regents Park).

Jenny Leong (Newtown Greens MP) also spoke of the Greens support for Restore Inner West Line and backed calls for the restoration of train services for Liverpool via Regents Park.

Roydon Ng, founder of the Restore Inner West Line campaign was present as the motion was put to a vote and rejected by the Liberal Baird government in another demonstration of ignorance, neglect and discrimination against South West Sydney particularly suburbs such as Berala, Regents Park, Sefton, Chester Hill, Leightonfield, Villawood, Carramar which have all lost train services due to the 2013 train timetable changes.

Following the vote on the Inner West Train Line motion, Roydon Ng and Ryan Park held a meeting at the Shadow Transport Minister's office inside the NSW Parliament House. The Shadow Minister reaffirmed Labor's ongoing support for Restore Inner West Line and committed to assisting with this cause where possible.

Restore Inner West Line would like to also acknowledge the support and involvement of Barbara Perry (former Member for Auburn) and Luke Foley (current Member for Auburn & Opposition Leader) towards this campaign.

Like Restore Inner West Line on Facebook:
Follow Restore Inner West on Twitter: #RestoreInnerWestLine

Below is a record of the proceeding in the Legislative Assembly regarding Restore Inner West Line. 


Ms Tania Mihailuk moved, pursuant to notice, That this House:

(1)      Condemns the Government and the Minister for Transport for removing the Inner West (also known as Liverpool via Regents Park) Train Line from the Sydney Trains timetable.

(2)     Notes that since the removal of the Inner West Train Line, commuters from Chester Hill, Sefton and Villawood need to change up to three times when commuting to the City via the Inner West for what was previously a direct journey.

(3)     Notes that commuting travel times have increased significantly.

(4)     Calls on the Government to review the timetable and restore the Inner West Train Line.

Debate ensued.

Question put.

The House divided.


Ms Aitchison, Mr Atalla, Mr Barr, Ms Burney, Ms Car, Ms Catley, Mr Chanthivong, Mr Crakanthorp, Mr Dib, Ms Doyle, Ms Finn, Mr Greenwich, Mr Harris, Ms Harrison, Ms Haylen, Mr Hoenig, Ms Hornery, Mr Kamper, Ms Leong, Mr Lynch, Dr McDermott, Ms McKay, Ms Mihailuk, Mr Minns, Mr Park, Mr Parker, Mr Robertson, Ms K. Smith, Ms T.F. Smith, Mr Warren, Ms Washington, Ms Watson and Mr Zangari.

Tellers: Ms Hay and Mr Lalich.


Mr Anderson, Mr Aplin, Mr Ayres, Ms Berejiklian, Mr Brookes, Mr Conolly, Mr Constance, Mr Coure, Mr Crouch, Mrs Davies, Mr Dominello, Mr Elliott, Mr Fraser, Mr Gee, Mr George, Ms Goward, Mr Grant, Mr Gulaptis, Mr Hazzard, Mr Henskens, Ms Hodgkinson, Mr Humphries, Mr Johnsen, Mr Kean, Dr Lee, Mr Maguire, Mr Marshall, Mr Notley-Smith, Mr O’Dea, Mrs Pavey, Mr Perrottet, Ms Petinos, Mr Provest, Mr Roberts, Mr Rowell, Mr Sidoti, Mrs Skinner, Mr Speakman, Mr Stokes, Mr Taylor, Mr Tudehope, Ms Upton, Mr Ward, Mr Williams and Mrs Williams.

Tellers: Mr Bromhead and Mr Patterson.       In the Chair: Mr Evans.

Pairs: Mr Daley—Mr Baird; Mr Foley—Mr Piccoli and Mr Mehan—Mr Toole.